Home

AB Philosophy graduate. With my thesis “CS Lewis’s Argument from Desire.”

On that sunny afternoon of Sunday, March 20, 2011, I had the best time of my life. A moment always to look back to and be thankful of – College Graduation (beginning with the Baccalaureate Mass at 3:00pm, followed by Graduation Ceremonies). The 17 students of San Carlos Seminary (to which I am part of) and 2 from Our Lady of the Pillar Seminary in Imus, Cavite – all comprising the singular, rejoicing Philo Batch 2011 wore the toga and received their diplomas. Our Baccalaureate Mass presider and main observer of our Graduation Rites is no other than the Auxiliary Bishop of Manila, Most Rev. Bernardino Cortez, DD, STL. Flanked with the seminary rector, Rev. Msgr. Hernando “Ding” Coronel, PC, MBA, Bishop Bernie accorded me the diploma, a mark of achievement and reputation as bonafide college alumnus of San Carlos Seminary. But above the merits and successes is the grace of God giving me the gift of formation for which I am ever grateful to San Carlos Seminary. BEFORE ANYBODY ELSE, SALAMAT PO, LORD !!!

My classmate Reden B. Bides got the Dean’s List Award or the highest academic merit in our entire batch. John Zernan B. Luna obtained the Best Thesis Award, while Bon A. Navarro, the Pantasan Student Council President, was granted the Leadership Award.

Our Graduation Rites were a joint celebration for graduates of both AB Philosophy and MA Theology at San Carlos. Aside from our formators and professors, our guest concelebrants for the Mass were Kalookan Bishop Deogracias Iniguez, Msgr. Alex Amandy, HP, JCD, Vicar-General of the Diocese of Kalookan, and Fr. Apolinario Ty, SSS, and the Vicar-General of the Archdiocese of Taipei.

Among my respectable guests that momentous occasion were my parents (of course!), my 4th yr HS class adviser Mr. Randy Apolinario, my aunt Sonia Evaloroza (my mom’s sister), aunt Emilia Relata (dad’s sister), Mrs. Minda Fuentes, my godparents Clarita Pagulong and Rose Adea-Sarte (both in baptism) and Emma Fuentes (in confirmation), and Kuya Jojo and Ate Lyn Sarte and Ethan their youngest child.

Buffet dinner was served at the Gymnasium. After meals, I was able to pack up my things and ride in Ninang Rose’s car going home, along with my parents and Aunt Sonia.

Having graduated at San Carlos Seminary, I wish to thank all the people who supported and continued loving me through their prayers and moral support. My 5 years in San Carlos are but an era of undending grace, stirring even after my graduation.

Leave a Reply

